• 404-254-0190 - bighouseguitars@gmail.com - 2323 Cheshire Bridge Rd - Open Monday-Saturday 12pm-7pm & Sunday 12-6pm

Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks LP NEW

Big House Guitars SKU: 886971594812


Sold Out

Blood on the Tracks is the fifteenth studio album by American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan, released on January 20, 1975,[1][2] by Columbia Records. The album marked Dylan's return to Columbia Records after a two-album stint with Asylum Records. Dylan began recording the album in New York City in September 1974. In December, shortly before Columbia was due to release the album, Dylan abruptly re-recorded much of the material in a studio in Minneapolis. The final album contains five tracks recorded in New York and five from Minneapolis.

Blood on the Tracks initially received mixed reviews, but has subsequently been acclaimed as one of Dylan's greatest albums by both critics and fans. The songs have been linked to tensions in Dylan's personal life, including his estrangement from his then-wife Sara. One of their children, Jakob Dylan, has described the songs as "my parents talking".[3] In interviews, Dylan has denied that the songs on the album are autobiographical.[4]

The album reached No. 1 on the Billboard 200 charts and No. 4 on the UK Albums Chart, with the single "Tangled Up in Blue" peaking at No. 31 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart. The album remains one of Dylan's best-selling studio releases, with a double-platinum U.S. certification by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).[5] In 2015, it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.[6] It was voted number 7 in the third edition of Colin Larkin's book All Time Top 1000 Albums (2000),[7] in 2003, the album was ranked No. 16 on Rolling Stone's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, rising to the No. 9 spot in the 2020 revision of that same list. In 2004, it was placed at No. 5 on Pitchfork's list of the top 100 albums of the 1970s.[8]

Track listing

All tracks are written by Bob Dylan.

Side one
No. Title Recorded Length
1. "Tangled Up in Blue" December 30, 1974, in Minneapolis 5:42
2. "Simple Twist of Fate" September 19, 1974, in New York City 4:19
3. "You're a Big Girl Now" December 27, 1974, in Minneapolis 4:36
4. "Idiot Wind" December 27, 1974, in Minneapolis 7:48
5. "You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go" September 17, 1974, in New York City 2:55
Total length: 25:20
Side two
No. Title Recorded Length
1. "Meet Me in the Morning" September 16, 1974, in New York City 4:22
2. "Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts" December 30, 1974, in Minneapolis 8:51
3. "If You See Her, Say Hello" December 30, 1974, in Minneapolis 4:49
4. "Shelter from the Storm" September 17, 1974, in New York City 5:02
5. "Buckets of Rain" September 19, 1974, in New York City 3:22