Eric Dolphy - Outward Bound LP NEW

Big House Guitars SKU: 025218602211


Only 1 left!


Outward Bound is the debut album by jazz multi-instrumentalist Eric Dolphy, released in 1960. It is oriented towards straight bebop, and slightly less adventurous than the majority of his later recordings.[4] The album was recorded at Van Gelder Studio in New Jersey and features Dolphy in a quintet with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, pianist Jaki Byard, bassist George Tucker and drummer Roy Haynes. Hubbard had shared living space with Dolphy when they both first arrived in New York City.[5] The cover artwork was by Dolphy's friend Richard "Prophet" Jennings.[6]

Of the three Dolphy originals on the album, "G.W." is dedicated to the Californian bandleader Gerald Wilson,[4] "Les" is named after the trombonist Lester Robinson,[7] and "245" was the number of Dolphy's house on Carlton Avenue, in Brooklyn's Fort Greene neighborhood.[8]

Track Listing:
  • 1 G.W
  • 2 On Green Dolphin Street
  • 3 Les
  • 4 245
  • 5 Glad to Be Unhappy
  • 6 Miss Toni
  • 7 G.W. [Alternate Take]
  • 8 245 [Alternate Take]
  • 9 April Fool