Green Day - American Idiot LP NEW

Big House Guitars SKU: 093624877714


Sold Out


2004 album from Green Day on double vinyl with a gatefold sleeve. WEA.

 American Idiot is the seventh studio album by American rock band Green Day, released on September 21, 2004, by Reprise Records. The album was produced by Rob Cavallo in collaboration with Green Day, an arrangement the group have been using since they signed with a major label. Recording sessions for American Idiot were made at Studio 880, in Oakland and Ocean Way Recording in Hollywood, both in California, between 2003 and 2004. A concept album, dubbed a "punk rock opera" by the band members, American Idiot follows the story of Jesus of Suburbia, a lower-middle-class American adolescent anti-hero. The album expresses the disillusionment and dissent of a generation that came of age in a period shaped by tumultuous events such as 9/11 and the Iraq War. In order to accomplish this, the band used unconventional techniques for themselves, including transitions between connected songs and some long, chaptered, creative compositions presenting the album themes.

Following the disappointing sales of their previous album Warning (2000), the band took a break before beginning what they had planned to be their next album, Cigarettes and Valentines. However, recording was cut short when the master tapes were stolen; following this, the band made the decision to start their next album from scratch. The result was a more societally critical, politically charged record which returned to the band's punk rock sound following the more folk and pop insired Warning, with additional influences that were not explored on their older punk albums. Additionally, the band underwent an "image change", wearing red and black uniforms onstage, to add more theatrical presence to the album.

American Idiot became one of the most anticipated releases of 2004. It marked a career comeback for Green Day, charting in 27 countries, reaching for the first time the top spot on the Billboard 200 for the group and peaking at number one in 18 other countries. It has sold over 16 million copies worldwide, making it the second best-selling album for the band and one of the best-selling albums of the decade. It was later certified 6× Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America in 2013. The album spawned five successful singles: the titular track, "American Idiot", "Holiday", "Wake Me Up When September Ends", "Jesus of Suburbia" and the Grammy Award for Record of the Year winner "Boulevard of Broken Dreams".


Track listing

All lyrics written by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted; all music composed by Green Day.[149]

No. Title Length
1. "American Idiot" 2:54
2. "Jesus of Suburbia"
  • I. "Jesus of Suburbia"
  • II. "City of the Damned"
  • III. "I Don't Care"
  • IV. "Dearly Beloved"
  • V. "Tales of Another Broken Home"
  • 1:51
  • 1:51
  • 1:43
  • 1:05
  • 2:38
  • 3. "Holiday" 3:52
    4. "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" 4:22
    5. "Are We the Waiting" 2:42
    6. "St. Jimmy" 2:56
    7. "Give Me Novacaine" 3:25
    8. "She's a Rebel" 2:00
    9. "Extraordinary Girl" 3:33
    10. "Letterbomb" 4:05
    11. "Wake Me Up When September Ends" 4:45
    12. "Homecoming"
  • I. "The Death of St. Jimmy"
  • II. "East 12th St."
  • III. "Nobody Likes You" (Mike Dirnt)
  • IV. "Rock and Roll Girlfriend" (Tré Cool)
  • V. "We're Coming Home Again"
  • 9:18
  • 2:24
  • 1:38
  • 1:21
  • 0:44
  • 3:11
  • 13. "Whatsername" 4:14
    Total length: 57:12