Lou Reed - New York LP (clear vinyl) NEW

Big House Guitars SKU: 603497843206


Only 3 left!


New York is the fifteenth solo studio album by American musician Lou Reed, released in January 1989 by Sire Records.[1]

The album received universal critical acclaim upon release, and is widely considered to be among Reed's strongest solo efforts. It is highly regarded for the strength and force of its lyrical content; Reed stated that he required simple music so that it would not distract from his frank lyrics. The single "Dirty Blvd." was a number-one hit on the newly created Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart for four weeks.

Reed's former band, the Velvet Underground, were at the peak of their cult popularity in the late 1980s, but his solo career had hit several lows during the 1980s. The widespread popularity of New York reignited his career to the extent the Velvet Underground were revived for a world tour.


Velvet Underground drummer Moe Tucker played percussion on two tracks.


Track listing

All tracks are written by Lou Reed, except as indicated.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Romeo Had Juliette"   3:09
2. "Halloween Parade"   3:33
3. "Dirty Blvd."   3:29
4. "Endless Cycle"   4:01
5. "There Is No Time"   3:45
6. "Last Great American Whale"   3:42
7. "Beginning of a Great Adventure"
Side two
No. Title Length
8. "Busload of Faith" 4:50
9. "Sick of You" 3:25
10. "Hold On" 3:24
11. "Good Evening Mr. Waldheim" 4:35
12. "Xmas in February" 2:55
13. "Strawman" 5:54
14. "Dime Store Mystery" 5:01