LP-Black Gold-Nina Simone

Big House Guitars SKU: 0507886822

$39.99 $44.99 Save $5

Only 1 left!



Black Gold is a live album by American jazz musician Nina Simone recorded in 1969 at the Philharmonic Hall, New York City. She got a 1971 nomination for a Grammy Award for Best Female R&B Vocal Performance, but lost to Aretha Franklin.

The album is especially notable because it features the civil rights anthem song "To Be Young, Gifted and Black". The performance that night also included a calypso version of Leonard Cohen's "Suzanne" (which Simone had recorded on To Love Somebody), but there was no room for it on the album.

With the release of the album also came an LP called Come Together with Nina Simone. It was a recorded interview about the album. The questions were provided in written form, so that radio DJs could ask the questions and play Simone's recorded answers, as if she were in the studio.[2][3]

Ultrasonically cleaned and ready for your turntable!

Sleeve Condition- (VG+)

Media Condition- (VG+)

Track List-

A1 Introduction 2:30
A2 Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair/Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair 7:30
A3 Ain't Got No - I Got No Life 5:30
A4 Westwind 9:40
B1 Who Knows Where The Time Goes 8:08
B2 The Assignment Sequence 6:28
B3 To Be Young, Gifted And Black 10:10