LP - The Who - Who's Next

Big House Guitars SKU: 6886854886

$9.99 $14.99 Save $5

Sold Out

Description - 

Who's Next is the fifth studio album by English rock band the Who. It developed from the aborted Lifehouse project, a multi-media rock opera conceived by the group's guitarist Pete Townshend as a follow-up to the band's 1969 album Tommy. The project was cancelled owing to its complexity and to conflicts with Kit Lambert, the band's manager, but the group salvaged some of the songs, without the connecting story elements, to release as their next album. Eight of the nine songs on Who's Next were from Lifehouse, the lone exception being the John Entwistle-penned "My Wife". Ultimately, the remaining Lifehouse tracks would all be released on other albums throughout the next decade.

The Who recorded Who's Next with assistance from recording engineer Glyn Johns. After producing the song "Won't Get Fooled Again" in the Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, they relocated to Olympic Studios to record and mix most of the album's remaining songs. They made prominent use of synthesizer on the album, particularly on "Won't Get Fooled Again" and "Baba O'Riley", which were both released as singles. The cover photo was shot by Ethan Russell; it made reference to the monolith in the 1968 film 2001: A Space Odyssey, as it featured the band standing by a concrete piling protruding from a slag heap in Easington Colliery, County Durham, apparently having urinated against it.

The album was an immediate success when it was released on 14 August 1971.[9] It has since been viewed by many critics as the Who's best album and one of the greatest albums of all time. It has been reissued on CD several times, often with additional songs originally intended for Lifehouse included as bonus tracks.

Media Condition - (G+)

Sleeve Condition - (G) 

Tracklist - 

1 Baba O'Riley 4:59
2 Bargain 5:33
3 Love Ain't For Keepin' 2:11
4 My Wife 3:35
5 The Song Is Over 6:16
6 Gettin' In Tune 4:49
7 Goin' Mobile 3:40
8 Behind Blue Eyes 3:40
9 Won't Get Fooled Again 8:31